[HowTo] Individual static messages for rooms

Chat rooms for mChat with optional password protection and 1-on-1 chats
Post Reply
User avatar
kasimi
mChat developer
Posts: 997
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 09:56
Location: Germany
Contact:

[HowTo] Individual static messages for rooms

#1

Post by kasimi » 13 Jul 2018, 19:04

@BanterFace mentioned this idea of having a different static message for each room. There is no feature for this built into Rooms, but with the following code samples you can do this yourself in a much more flexible way. Rooms 1.2.1 or later is required.

For each static message you need two parts:
  • HTML container that wraps your message text that you add to your static message box on mChat's global settings page
  • CSS that you can add to any .css file that is loaded with mChat, the most obvious one being ext/dmzx/mchat/styles/prosilver/theme/mchat.css, although you will need to re-apply the changes after the next mChat update.

You can combine the codes below however you like.

  1. Display static message in all rooms
    • HTML

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
    • no CSS needed
  2. Display static message only in the lobby
    • HTML

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
    • CSS

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
  3. Display static message only in room with ID 3
    • HTML

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
    • CSS

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
      Tip: an easy way to find out the IDs of your rooms is to run this code in your browser console when you're on a page where rooms are displayed:

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
  4. Display static message in all public rooms, including the lobby
    • HTML

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
    • CSS

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
  5. Display static message in all public rooms, excluding the lobby
    • HTML

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
    • CSS

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
  6. Display static message in all password-protected rooms
    • HTML

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
    • CSS

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
  7. Display static message in all private rooms
    • HTML

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -
    • CSS

      Code: Select all

      - This code is only accessible to donors -

terry2
Donor
Posts: 193
Joined: 22 Oct 2016, 18:22
Location: My castle

Re: [HowTo] Individual static messages for rooms

#2

Post by terry2 » 13 Jul 2018, 20:10

Another tip to get room id's look at mchat room table in database.

rammstein
Posts: 53
Joined: 13 Jan 2018, 01:11

Re: [HowTo] Individual static messages for rooms

#3

Post by rammstein » 15 Jul 2018, 10:52

hello Kasimi

what are the files we need to nodify ?

User avatar
BanterFace
Posts: 51
Joined: 01 Feb 2017, 12:42

Re: [HowTo] Individual static messages for rooms

#4

Post by BanterFace » 16 Jul 2018, 06:25

Thanks kasimi for making this guide, think it will be helpful for many people who use this ext (including me ;) ).
terry2 wrote:
13 Jul 2018, 20:10
Another tip to get room id's look at mchat room table in database.
Or you can just inspect ul.mchat-rooms, id's in id-html-attributes and data-room-id.

User avatar
kasimi
mChat developer
Posts: 997
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 09:56
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [HowTo] Individual static messages for rooms

#5

Post by kasimi » 16 Jul 2018, 20:42

rammstein wrote:
15 Jul 2018, 10:52
what are the files we need to nodify ?
I updated the first post to make that a little clearer. Please read again at the top.

User avatar
jan_2017
Distinguished Donor
Posts: 136
Joined: 13 May 2017, 18:07

Re: [HowTo] Individual static messages for rooms

#6

Post by jan_2017 » 19 Aug 2018, 16:10

Hello. And where get the html code?
What file does the HTML code need to be in?

ACP?

Solved.....who can read has a clear advantage :D :beer: :+1:

br0nks
Donor
Posts: 14
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 14:15

Re: [HowTo] Individual static messages for rooms

#7

Post by br0nks » 15 Nov 2019, 22:29

how to make static message inside of the chatroom? i mean like we are chatting and messages are showin, how to fix one static message by: CHAT BOT as username, and with some text?

cause this option is showing it over text area. and i have text area UP and its looking very bad to have describe there.
better would be to chave one always on top in chaatroom with border or something..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests