mChat server load

Display mChat when viewing forums and topics, configurable in the UCP
User avatar
NAPWR
Posts: 36
Joined: 27 May 2017, 12:43
Location: Perth, Western Australia

mChat server load

Post by NAPWR »

Hello Kasimi and all,

I have just moved our forum to a faster host,

and they now have told me that mChat is using a lot of resources,

which they also say, that too many more users using the chat will spill over the resources.


so the question here is:-

how can I reduce the mChat server load without turning it off ? :lol:
terry2
Posts: 228
Joined: 22 Oct 2016, 18:22
Location: My castle

Re: mChat server load

Post by terry2 »

Make the refresh longer also maybe update to latest version ? my server stats droped with new version.
User avatar
kasimi
mChat developer
Posts: 1108
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 09:56
Location: Germany

Re: mChat server load

Post by kasimi »

Hi NAPWR,

it all depends on how many users are actively chatting at the same time. Lately I get the feeling that hosts are quick to warn their customers about high resource usage even though it's not as dramatic as they make it sound.

One easy improvement you can make is to fix this bug in core phpBB which will be available in 3.2.4: https://github.com/phpbb/phpbb/pull/5157 The code change saves an UPDATE query on each add, edit & delete action in mChat.

For details about which of mChat's ACP settings affect performance the most, read here: https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/exte ... pic/174966
User avatar
NAPWR
Posts: 36
Joined: 27 May 2017, 12:43
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: mChat server load

Post by NAPWR »

thanks Terry2 and Kasimi,

is a bit out of my league with code changes.
User avatar
kasimi
mChat developer
Posts: 1108
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 09:56
Location: Germany

Re: mChat server load

Post by kasimi »

That's easy: open the PR link I posted and click on the Files changed tab. Open your phpbb/sessions.php file. Now add all green lines to your file and delete all red lines. Maybe this side-by-side view helps too: https://github.com/phpbb/phpbb/pull/515 ... diff=split :+1:
User avatar
kasimi
mChat developer
Posts: 1108
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 09:56
Location: Germany

Re: mChat server load

Post by kasimi »

Also, if you're running phpBB 3.2.0 or 3.2.1, use PHP 7.1. If you're running phpBB 3.2.2, use PHP 7.2.
User avatar
NAPWR
Posts: 36
Joined: 27 May 2017, 12:43
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: mChat server load

Post by NAPWR »

Ok thanks, will see how we go Kasimi :lol:
User avatar
kasimi
mChat developer
Posts: 1108
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 09:56
Location: Germany

Re: mChat server load

Post by kasimi »

Let me know if you need help. :+1:

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 0 guests